Products: Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup
Article ID: s0553Last Modified: 07-Oct-2026

Auto-Activate Users and Groups

Configure Auto-Activation for New Group

Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup allows you to enable automatic activation for new users and Office 365 Groups added to the domains included in your backup project. By default, the auto-activation for users in added groups is disabled.

To configure auto activation for new group

  1. Open Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup Dashboard.
  2. On the Users page, click the New Group Auto-Activation button.

  1. Select one of the suggested auto-activation modes:

    • All Users. Auto-activate all users in the selected group(s).
    • New Users Only. Auto-activate only new users (newly created in the domain) added to selected group(s). Existing users will not be affected.
    • Disabled. Auto-activation for the new groups will be disabled.
  2. Save your selection.

Auto-Activate Users in Existing Groups

An activated user will appear in the grid on the Users page, and a trial license for 15 days will be automatically assigned to the user. After the trial license expires, an available Backup license will be assigned to the user. If there are no available Backup licenses, the user remains in the list but is excluded from the backup project.

By default, the auto-activation for new users is disabled. You can enable it by configuring auto-activation as follows:

  • Auto-activate all users in the selected group(s)
  • Auto-activate only new users added to selected group(s)

Auto-Activate All Users in Selected Group(s)

To auto-activate all users in the selected group(s):

  1. Open Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup Dashboard.
  2. On the Users page, click the Actions button, then click the User Groups option.

  1. Select the groups to enable auto-activation for all users, and then click Edit Auto-Activation Mode.

  1. Select All Users and click Apply.

Now all users in selected groups will always be activated automatically. You can change this setting or auto-activation for any of these groups whenever you want.

Auto-Activate New Users Added Selected Group(s)

To auto-activate all NEW users added to the selected group(s):

  1. Open Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup Dashboard.
  2. On the Users page, click the Actions button, then click the User Groups option.

  1. Select the groups to enable auto-activation for new users (newly created in the domain), and then click Edit Auto-Activation Mode.

  1. Select New Users Only and click Apply.

Now new users added to selected groups will always be activated automatically. Existing users will not be affected. You can change this setting or auto-activation for any of these groups whenever you want.

Disable Auto-Activation

To disable auto-activation:

  1. Open Microsoft 365 / Google Workspace Backup Dashboard.
  2. On the Users page, click the Actions button and select User Groups.
  3. Select the groups to disable auto-activation, and then click Edit Auto-Activation Mode.
  4. Select Disabled and click Apply.

Now users in selected groups will not be activated automatically.