Manage Users

This chapter covers the following topics:

Synchronize Domain

Domain synchronization to add a new users /groups or synchronize existing ones is performed once per day automatically. If necessary, you can create an immediate domain synchronization job to incorporate changes. To add new users/groups to users' grid and synchronize changes for existing users, on Users click action menu, then select Sync Domain. Users will be added to grid automatically. Now you can enable all or specific users to configure backup for them.

Manage Users and Groups

To manage users select Users in the horizontal menu bar.

All users are listed in the grid. Headers are active table elements which allow you to sort user list according to specified criteria.

The table contains the following data:

  • User/Email. User displayed names and email addresses
  • Last Backup. Date and time of last backup
  • Backup Size. User backups size on storage
  • Backup License. Backup license status for user. The following statuses are available:
    • Assigned. This status means that the license is assigned to the user and is active. This status is painted green
    • Not available. This status means that license is either deleted or expired. To learn more about licenses, refer to the Licensing chapter
    • Inactive. This status means that backup service is switched off for current user.

Use the filters above the grid to filter the displayed user list. The following filters are available:

  • All
  • Included in Backup
  • Not In Backup
  • With Backup But Not in Domain
  • Blocked/Suspended

Icon Explication

Users grid contains a set of controls which can be used to manage settings. Learn table icons and their meaning. These controls displays specific service backup status (service enabled (green), service disabled (grey), or service unavailable due to license issues (red)).

Icon Description
Mail backup settings for selected user
Google Drive backup settings for selected user
Contacts backup settings for selected user
Google Calendar backup settings for selected user

Enable Users

If you use Business product edition, you can enable all or selected users within the user limit set for your subscription:

  • To enable all users click the user menu, then select Add All To Backup. All users are now enabled and you can configure backup for them. After the backup is configured, it will be started automatically.

  • To enable multiple users, select required users to turn on enabled status for these users/groups (main selector).

In case you need to increase user limit refer to Expand Your Subscription.

Configure Backup Options

To configure backup options for one user, select it, then click Configure Backup. In the pane to the right select required Google services to backup. In the pane to the right, enable or disable backup for G Suite services: Mail, Google Drive, Contacts, and Google Calendar.

To configure backup options for all or multiple users, select required users to apply backup configuration to them. Once you selected required users, then click Configure Backup. In the pane to the right, enable or disable backup for G Suite services: Mail, Google Drive, Contacts, and Google Calendar.

Once you are done, click Save.

To configure Shared Drives backup refer to Back up Shared Drives chapter.

To disable one or multiple users, select required users to turn off enabled status for these users/groups (main selector). These users will be excluded from your subscription.

Configure User Permissions

To configure user permissions for one user, select the required user, then click Permissions.

To configure permissions for multiple users, select required users to apply permission configuration to them. Once you selected required users, click Configure Backup.

The following permissions are available:

  • Sign In. Enable this option to allow users (except G Suite administrator which is granted with this permission by default) to sign in to console and view their backed up data
  • Restore. Enable this option to allow selected users to restore data from the backup content.

Once you are done, click Save.

Assign Retention Policy

To create and assign a retention policy for users, refer to the Retention Policy chapter.

Delete Backup Contents

To delete backup content, select the required user, then click Delete Backup.

  1. In the right pane, select G Suite services to be deleted from backup contents.
  2. Specify the alternate email address. Deletion operations require setting up an alternate email address..
  3. Click Delete.

Note that data deletion is not available without providing an alternate email password