Backup Settings

To manage symlinks and retention policy settings for CloudBerry Backup for macOS:

  1. In the horizontal toolbar, click Settings.
  2. Switch to the Backup tab to manage the following settings:
    • Symlinks
    • Retention policy (default)

Symlinks Management

CloudBerry Backup for macOS offers comprehensive symlink management. The following options are available:

  • Do not back up symlinks. Symlinks will not be backed up, and original files will also not be backed up
  • Back up symlinks only. Symlinks will be backed up, but original files (to which symlinks point) will not be backed up
  • Back up original files instead of symlinks. Original files will be backed up (instead of symlinks) in the folder that contains symlinks. For example, if you have a symlink located in /Desktop that points to a file called "report.pdf" in /Downloads, that file will be backed up in /Desktop
  • Back up original files in their original locations. Original files will be backed up instead of symlinks in the original folder (not in the folder that contains symlinks). For example, if you have a symlink located in /Desktop that points to a file called "report.pdf" in /Downloads, that file will be backed up in /Downloads
  • Back up original files in their original locations and symlinks. Original files will be backed up along with symlinks.

Retention Policy

The retention policy area on Backup tab refer to the default retention policy. The following options are available for configuration:

  • Delete version older than. Files in the backup storage will be deleted after the specified time period has passed. The time period will be tracked either since the backup date or the modification date
  • Always keep the last version. Retain the last version of any file in the backup storage regardless of the default retention policy
  • Keep number of versions. Retain the specified number of versions of each file in the backup storage.